Chopin Piano Quintet



Krzysztof Stanienda – piano
Roksana Kwaśnikowska – violin
Magdalena Lech – violin
Maria Stanienda – viola
Magdalena Bojanowicz-Koziak – cello


The Chopin Piano Quintet is created by people related to the Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw who together decided to explore the artistry of musical dialogue.


The members of the ensemble began to work in autumn 2013 and after a short cooperation, that is to say in April 2014, they became laureates of the International Stasys Vainiūnas Piano and Cham¬ber Ensemble Competition in Vilnius. The subsequent awards received at the Italian competition tour in June 2014, where they won the 1st prize at the International Chamber Music Competition “Contessa Tina Orsi Anguissola Scotti” in Pianello Val Tidone, the 1st prize at the 12th International Competition “Premio Citta di Padova” in Padua and the 1st prize at the 7th International Chamber Competition “Anton Garcia Abril” – Espana in 2018, opened them the door to Polish and European concert halls.



The particular members of the ensemble are prize-winners of numerous solo and chamber music competitions both in Poland and abroad. They are improving the artistry of performing in an ensemble under the direction of such pedagogues as Maja Nosowska, Corina Belcea, Jan Stanienda, Andrzej Bauer, or Krystyna Makowska-Ławrynowicz.


The Chopin Piano Quintet has become a laureate of the scholarship pro¬gramme of the Minister of Culture and National Heritage “Young Poland” 2016.


The Chopin Piano Quintet has in its repertoire both Polish piano quintets by Juliusz Zarębski, Grażyna Bacewicz, Marcin Błażewicz, and Tadeusz Paciorkiewicz, and chamber music masterpieces by Robert Schumann, Dmitri Shostakovich, Johannes Brahms, César Franck, Edward Elgar, Antonín Dvořák, and others, as well as transcriptions of Fryderyk Chopin works.



photo: Anita Wąsik-Płocińska