Piotr Alexewicz


Born in 2000, he currently studies the piano under Professor Paweł Zawadzki at the Karol Lipiński Academy of Music in Wrocław. He is a prizewinner of more than a dozen Polish and international piano competitions.


His other artistic achievements include: 2nd prize of the Jeunesses International Music Competition Dinu Lipatti in Bucharest (2016); Grand Prix, Musideco Prize and Audience Award at the Ville de Gagny Competition in Paris (2017); der 4. Fontys Preis at International Anton Rubinstein Competition for piano in Dusseldorf.


An active performer since his early years, he played at the Chopin and His Europe Festival in Warsaw (2018, 2019), the 73rd, 75th, 76th International Festival in Duszniki Zdrój, Gdańsk Music Festival, and Chopin à Paris: Hommage à Clara Schumann among many others. He also made an appearance at the International Classical Music Awards gala in Katowice. He has collaborated with conductors such as Howard Shelley, Tatsuya Shimono, Marek Pijarowski, Nicolae Moldoveanu, Benjamin Shwartz, Rune Bergmann and Ruben Silva.


Alexewicz regularly performs in Poland and abroad (Germany, Denmark, UK, Italy, France, Switzerland, Japan, Slovakia, Romania, Croatia, USA). He is the recipient of the “Young Poland” scholarship awarded by Poland’s culture ministry and German scholarship “Hans und Eugenia Jutting – Stiftung Stendal”. In 2019 the Fryderyk Chopin Institute in Warsaw released his debut album featuring music by Liszt, Beethoven, Chopin, and Ravel. As a result of the artist’s invitation to further cooperation by the Fryderyk Chopin Institute, the pianist, together with the Sinfonia Varsovia Orchestra, under the baton of Howard Shelley, recorded all of Fryderyk Chopin’s works for piano and orchestra, which are not piano concerti. This album is part of the “White Series” – several dozen albums with a complete set of Chopin’s works on modern pianos – published by the Fryderyk Chopin Institute, recorded by the most outstanding pianists such as: Dmitri Alexeev, Dang Thai Son, Dina Yoffe, Garrick Ohlsson, Krzysztof Jablonski. In June 2021, he received the first-ever “Young Promoter of Poland” award from the First Lady of the Republic of Poland – Agata Kornhauser-Duda. The distinction was awarded for special merits in promoting Polish culture.



photo: Agnieszka Wira